Short Story: The Queen’s Speech and the Immigrant

queen

Prologue

Kamal al-Labwani,  a 24-year-old student was born into an influential Syrian family. His father, Abubakar al-Labwani was a childhood friend and special adviser to Bashar al-Assad the Syrian President. When Kamal was 14 years old, his parents sent him to England to study, hoping that he would one day come back to work in Syria. After studying at Harrow School, he gained admission to King’s College to study Physics. Shortly after his admission, a civilian uprising started in Syria, which led to a civil war.

===================================================================

Staring at his childhood crush Tira, Kamal said: “My life is in a complete mess. I just don’t get it.” Raising her voice so as to drown the sound of the shooting taking place outside the Beit Wakil Hotel in Aleppo between the forces loyal to Bashar al-Assad and the rebels, Tira asked Kamal to narrate his ordeal. “It all started with a speech”, he said, “the Queen’s Speech. Ever since I visited Buckingham Palace ten years ago, I fell in love with the British Royal family. My fascination with the Family continued after I watched the Oscar winning movies: The Queen and later The King’s Speech. When it was announced that the Queen was going to open the Parliament, I took time off my studies and sat in front of my TV to listen to the ‘Speech From the Throne’. I was blown away by the pomp and ceremony. It was a delight to see Queen Elizabeth in her full regalia comprising of the diamond studded Imperial Crown and her 18ft Robe of State. Then the speech started.”

“What did she say?” Tira asked. Wiping his tears with a tissue, he said, “She spoke about how she wanted her government to build a stronger economy and to promote a society that rewards people who work. She also talked about introducing several Bills that will support small businesses, improve infrastructure, help working parents and improve education. Then she said, ‘My government will bring forward a Bill that further reforms Britain’s immigration system.’  Little did I know that these words would change the course of my life as I never believed that the immigration reforms would affect me; after all, I was living a comfortable life in London and my financial needs were met by my rich parents. Shortly after the Queen’s speech, there was a debate in the House of Parliament and then it became clear that immigration reform was the key focus of her speech. The government was to introduce regulations that would make it very tough for migrants in Britain.”

“Two weeks later, I read in the newspaper that my father was arrested by President Assad’s secret police, for plotting to assassinate him. I had no clue that dad was involved in the revolution. A month later, he was hanged by the regime. From that moment on, my world turned upside down. The Syrian Government seized dad’s assets and the funding for my schooling stopped. I fell behind in my school payments and I was expelled thereby becoming an illegal immigrant.

I searched for alternative accommodation, but could not get any as the new regulation made it mandatory for landlords to check the passports of prospective tenants. When I fell sick, I was refused treatment at the hospital as the GP demanded to see my passport. Wherever I went, people started looking at me suspiciously. Whenever I went to a restaurant, entered the bus or train, people would ask for my passport and then start laughing. One day while jogging at Regent Park, a police officer stopped me, demanded to see my passport and when he found out that I did not have the right to remain in England, I was detained and deported to Syria forty-eight hours later.”

With tears in her eyes, Tira hugged Kamal saying “Don’t worry, everything is going to be fine” and then they kissed.

Epilogue

As the screech of a car brake jolted them out of their embrace, there was a large explosion and the hotel building began to shake. The force of the explosion, which smashed the glass window, lifted Kamal’s six-foot frame and slammed him against the wall, killing him instantly. Tira, who fell to the floor, used the broken window frame as support to get up. When she looked out of the window, she saw injured people lying on the street amid shattered buildings and twisted cars. She turned towards Kamal and saw his battered body beside the ripped door. As she hugged Kamal’s lifeless body she began to wail.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. abey

     /  February 8, 2014

    Know a little truth about the “Lies & deceit of the Queens” ; There was this visionary standing in the spirit in a Church noticing a few people discussing among themselves among whom was a woman, her head covered due baldness & face scarred & when this woman noticed the visionary she jumped upon him in attack to which came out “The Lords Prayer” in the spirit from the visionary, the woman fled on all four swearing & cursing. Now this woman was identified as QE1 & the place west minister abbey wherein are these royals buried. It is said that QE i contacted small pox at an young age resulting in loss of hair & a scarred face.. The whole epitome of the encounter signify the Kingdom of this world of sitting against the Kingdom of God. And it seems that discussion was to the modern day Masonic Conspiracy from her time, off that ‘ole iniquity. Even unto the many alters figured within the freemasonic Israeli supreme court. So, all that shines is not gold but to know them hidden behind the genocides taking place through scrape goats, against God & His Kingdom. “For the Kingdom suffers violence & the violent take it by force”. But are unaware of the Lord of hosts who sees their evil works.

    Reply

Leave a comment